CMI Level 5 Management and Leadership

This qualification is aimed at practicing or aspiring Operations, Departmental, Divisional, or Regional Managers who are typically accountable to a senior manager or business owner. The CMI Level 5 Diploma is delivered alongside our Operations and Departmental Manager Level 5 Apprenticeship Standard.

The primary role of a manager in this area would be to lead and manage individuals and teams to deliver aims and objectives in line with an organisational strategy. Roles and responsibilities would typically include developing teams and individuals, creating operational plans, planning and managing projects, managing change, managing finance and resources. Extensive research has been undertaken by CMI to ensure that these qualifications reflect tasks and activities of real managers in the workplace.

The qualifications available are:

CMI Level 5 Award in Management and Leadership
CMI Level 5 Certificate in Management and Leadership
CMI Level 5 Diploma in Management and Leadership

There are minimum requirements to achieve qualification, and are based on the boundaries outlined by Ofqual. For the award, learners must complete at least one unit to a minimum of 40 hours; for the certificate, learners must complete a combination of units to total 121 hours; for the diploma, learners must complete a combination of units to a minimum of 370 hours. In all cases there is a barred combination of units, this can be discussed with a tutor to establish the correct units for each individual.

There are 26 units in total within the entire specification, however example units that we currently deliver as part of the diploma’s typical pathway are:

Principles of operational leadership and management in an organisational context
Principles of developing, managing and leading individuals and teams to achieve success
Managing stakeholder relationships
Managing projects to achieve results
Managing change
Creating and delivering operational plans
Managing finance
Using reflective practice to inform personal and professional development

Chartered Managers are consistent high performers, committed to current best practice and ethical standards. This unique designation can be awarded by CMI to those who have completed this qualification and have 3 or more years’ of management experience.

Learners may also choose to commit to further study such as the CMI Level 6 qualification.